BVD Free

Elimination of Bovine Viral Diarrhoea (BVD) virus from cattle herds in England

BVD STATEMENT OF INTENT

Bovine Viral Diarrhoea (BVD) virus is endemic in cattle herds in England. BVD is a cause of animal health, welfare and economic losses on infected farms. Most herds will have been infected with BVD virus or are at constant risk of re-introduction of disease due to unknowingly moving PI animals, infection from neighbouring farms or contact with infected animals at markets and shows.

The Cattle Health and Welfare Group (CHAWG) identified BVD control as a priority for the cattle industry. CHAWG has been working collaboratively to develop a national programme for BVD eradication. Nigel Gibbens, UK Chief Veterinary Officer, has indicated his full support for the statement of intent and urged the continuation of the work together on BVD, in communities and nationally, with farmers working with veterinary practices.

The organisations, which sit on the national BVD steering group, signed up to a statement of intent on BVD control and elimination and many organisations have added their support.

BVD Statement of Intent

We the undersigned recognise BVD as one of the biggest disease issues facing the cattle industry currently and one which is in the hands of the sector to control and eradicate. We fully back the eradication of BVD from the national cattle herd.

National Farmers Union (NFU) www.nfu.org.uk

ABAViking www.abaviking.co.uk

The Aberdeen-Angus Cattle Society www.aberdeen-angus.co.uk

Action for BVD Control – Staffordshire and Derbyshire

Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB) www.ahdb.org.uk

Allflex Europe (UK) Ltd www.allflex.co.uk

Animal Health Distributors Association (AHDA) www.ahda.co.uk

Animal Medicines Training Regulatory Authority (AMTRA) www.amtra.org.uk

Arla Foods Ltd www.arlafoods.co.uk

Ayrshires Cattle Society www.ayrshirescs.org

Barclays Agriculture www.barclays.co.uk/business-services/barclays-agribusiness

Boehringer Ingelheim (BI) www.boehringer-ingelheim.co.uk

Beef Shorthorn Cattle Society www.shorthorn.co.uk

British Blue Cattle Society www.britishbluecattle.org

British Cattle Veterinary Association (BCVA) www.bcva.eu

British Cattle Breeders Club cattlebreeders.org.uk

British Charolais Cattle Society www.charolais.co.uk

British Dairying www.britishdairying.co.uk

British Limousin Cattle Society http://limousin.co.uk/

British Simmental Cattle Society www.britishsimmental.co.uk

British Veterinary Association (BVA) www.bva.co.uk

Caisley Eartag Limited www.caisleytags.co.uk

Cattle Health Certification Standards (CHeCS) www.checs.co.uk

Cattle Health and Welfare Group (CHAWG) www.chawg.org.uk

Cattle Information Services www.thecis.co.uk

The Centre for Dairy Information (CDI) www.thecdi.co.uk

Coombe Farm www.coombefarm.com

The Cooperative Food www.co-operativefood.co.uk/food-matters

Countryside Services Ltd www.countrysideservices.com

DairyUK www.dairyuk.org

Dairy Science Forum www.dairyscienceforum.org

Dairy Veterinary Consultancy Ltd www.dairyveterinaryconsultancy.co.uk

Dalton tags Ltd www.daltontags.co.uk

Derbyshire Veterinary Services Ltd

Devon Cattle Breeders Society / Red Ruby Devon Cattle www.redrubydevon.co.uk

Dovecote Park Ltd. www.dovecotepark.co.uk

Duchy College Rural Business School www.ruralbusinessschool.org.uk

Elanco www.elanco.com

Evidence Based Veterinary Consultancy (EBVC) www.ebvc.co.uk

Farmers Guardian www.fginsight.com

Farmers Weekly www.fwi.co.uk

Genus Breeding www.genusbreeding.co.uk

Hi Health Herdcare, Biobest Laboratories Ltd www.biobest.co.uk

The Hereford Cattle Society www.herefordcattle.org

The Highland Cattle Society www.highlandcattlesociety.com

Holstein UK holstein-uk.org

Innovation for Agriculture (IfA) www.innovationforagriculture.org.uk

The Jersey Cattle Society of the UK www.ukjerseys.com

Kingston Maurward College www.kmc.ac.uk

Kite Consulting www.kiteconsulting.com

Landex – Land Based Colleges Aspiring to Excellence www.landex.org.uk

LGC www.lgcgroup.com

Lincoln Red Cattle Society www.lincolnredcattlesociety.co.uk

Livestock Auctioneers Association (LAA) www.laa.co.uk

MacVet Ltd www.macvetltd.co.uk

Meadow Quality www.meadowq.co.uk

Meadows Farm Vets Ltd. www.meadowsfarmvets.co.uk

Meat and Livestock Commercial Services Ltd (MLCSL) www.mlcsl.co.uk

Merial Animal Health uk.merial.com

MiFarm Vets mifarmvets.co.uk

Montbeliarde UK www.montbeliardeuk.co.uk

Moredun Group www.moredun.org.uk

MSD Animal Health (MSD) www.msd-animal-health.co.uk

Myerscough College www.myerscough.ac.uk

MyHealthyHerd www.myhealthyherd.com

Müller Milk & Ingredients www.müller.co.uk

National Beef Association (NBA) www.nationalbeefassociation.com

National Federation of Young Farmers Clubs (NFYFC) www.nfyfc.org.uk

National Milk Laboratories (NML) www.nationalmilklaboratories.co.uk

National Milk Records (NMR) www.nmr.co.uk

National Office of Animal Health (NOAH) www.noah.co.uk

NationWide Laboratory Services www.nwlabs.co.uk

Nottingham University Dairy Herd Health Group www.nottingham.ac.uk/research/groups/dairy-herd-health-group

NWF Agriculture www.nwfagriculture.co.uk

The Organic Milk Suppliers Cooperative (OMSCo) www.omsco.co.uk

Pasture-Fed Livestock Association www.pastureforlife.org

Peter Jones Livestock Ltd www.peterjoneslivestock.co.uk

Promar International www.promar-international.com

Quicktag Ltd www.quicktag.co.uk

Raft Solutions raftsolutions.co.uk

Rare Breed Survival Trust www.rbst.org.uk

Red Poll Cattle Society www.redpoll.org

Red Tractor www.redtractorassurance.org.uk

Royal Association of British Dairy Farmers (RABDF) www.rabdf.co.uk

Royal Agricultural Society of England (RASE) www.rase.org.uk

Royal Agricultural University www.rau.ac.uk

Royal Veterinary College (RVC) www.rvc.ac.uk/bvd

Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) www.rspca.org.uk

Roxan Livestock Identification www.roxan.co.uk

SAC Consulting Veterinary Services (SACCVS) www.sac.co.uk, www.cattlehealth.co.uk

Sainsbury’s www.sainsburys.co.uk

SellMyLivestock www.sellmylivestock.co.uk

Shearwell Data www.shearwell.co.uk

Shepherd Publishing Ltd www.shepherdpublishing.com

Shorthorn Society of the UK & Ireland www.shorthorn.co.uk/dairyshorthorn

South Devon Herd Book Society www.sdhbs.org.uk

The Stabiliser™ Cattle Company www.bigbeef.co.uk

Sterling Sires Ltd www.sterlingbullsonline.co.uk

The UK Approved Livestock Identification Manufacturers’ Association www.alidma.org.uk

TESCO www.tesco.com

Towcester Farm Vets http://towcester-vets.co.uk/farm-animal/

University of Bristol, School of Veterinary Sciences www.bristol.ac.uk/vetscience/

University of Liverpool, Division of Livestock Health and Welfare, School of Veterinary Science www.liverpool.ac.uk/veterinary-science

Vetco www.vetco.org.uk

Vetswest www.vetswest.co.uk

Waitrose Dairy Farmers www.waitrose.com

Waitrose Farming Partnership www.waitrose.com

Westpoint Farm Vets www.westpointfarmvets.co.uk

Women in Dairy www.rabdf.co.uk/women-in-dairy/

XLVets www.xlvets.co.uk

Any organisation wishing to add its support to the BVD Statement of Intent can do so by contacting Derek Armstrong, AHDB, (email: derek.armstrong@ahdb.org.uk).

More information can be obtained from the website bvdfree.org.uk

BVD Free