By Julie Hazelton

County Meath pedigree breeder William Smith clinched the overall Limousin championship, and the reserve supreme interbreed honours at the Royal Ulster Agricultural Society’s 154th Balmoral Show.

William Smith and family from Oldcastle, Co Meath, with the Limousin and reserve interbreed champion Millbrook Naughtyspice at Balmoral Show. Picture: Agri-Images

Leading the Limousin line-up and making her showring debut was the five-year-old cow Millbrook Naughtyspice, shown with her three-week-old Fuschia bull calf at foot. This much-admired young cow is a full sister to the 250,000gns world-record breaker Wilodge Poshspice ET. Sired by the 32,000gns Ampertaine Elgin, her dam is the multi-award winning cow Millbrook Gingerspice, who claimed three consecutive Balmoral breed and interbreed championships from 2012.

William and Soraise Smith, County Meath, with the supreme Limousin champion, and reserve interbreed beef champion Millbrook Naughtyspice. Picture: Agri-Images

More than 50 entries were paraded before Scottish judge Ian Nimmo, owner of the Maraiscote Herd based in North Lanarkshire, who tapped out Charlotte’s Sapphire exhibited by Donal Moloney, Ardnacrusha Herd, County Clare, as the reserve female and reserve supreme champion. This two-year-old heifer was bred by Charlotte Martin from Dromara, County Down, and is no stranger to the limelight at Balmoral, having won the breed’s junior championship, and the supreme junior interbreed award last year. Charlotte’s Sapphire was sired by Elite Forever Brill, and is bred from Roundhill Kmelodie 1595. She was purchased by Donal Moloney for 16,000gns at the British Limousin Society’s 50th Anniversary Sale in Carlisle last July.

Claiming the male championship ribbons was the September 2021 Carrickmore Schumacher exhibited by Trevor Shields from the Glenmarshal Herd in Kilkeel. Bred by John and Karl Connell from County Meath, this Sympa son was intermediate, male and reserve overall champion at the Irish Limousin Society’s 50th Anniversary event in Carrick-on-Shannon, where he sold for 30,000 Euros. His dam is the 2015 Balmoral Limousin champion Bailey’s Iceprincess.

Male champion was Carrickmore Schumacher owned by Trevor Shields, Kilkeel. Picture: Agri-Images

Runner-up for the male championship title was Jalex Transform, who also secured the junior male, reserve exhibitor-bred and overall junior championship awards for James Alexander from Randalstown. This yearling bull was sired by the 16,000gns Hunters Hall Nutcracker, and is bred from Brockhurst Oriana. He was a first prize winner at the NI Limousin Young Breeders’ Club’s Rising Stars Calf Show in Dungannon.

Junior champion, reserve male champion and reserve exhibitor-bred champion Jalex Transform from James Alexander, Randalstown. Picture: Agri-Images

The ten-month-old heifer Cranmoney Tess exhibited by Mark McCartan, Crossgar, won the junior heifer plaudits, and the reserve junior championship. Sired by Claddagh McCabe, she is out of the home-bred Cranmoney Red Lady. This heifer was reserve junior champion at the NI calf show.

The McCartan family from Crossgar, and handler Katrina Killen, with the reserve junior champion Cranmoney Tess. Picture: Agri-Images

Lifting the reserve junior heifer prize was the January 2022 Rathkeeland Tenndresse brought out by Herbie Crawford, and son Stephen, Maguiresbridge. Sired by Westpit Omaha, she is bred from Larkhill India. This heifer was reserve senior champion at the calf show in March.

Stephen Crawford, Maguiresbridge, exhibited the reserve junior heifer champion Rathkeeland Tenndresse. Picture: Agri-Images

Claiming the reserve junior male championship was Castlebrock Trafford, a March 2022 Mereside Godolphin son exhibited by Martin Oliver Davis, Balinalee, County Longford.

Reserve junior champion was Castlebrock Trafford owned by Martin Oliver Davis from Balinalee, County Longford. Picture: Agri-Images
The Limousin team won the LMC award for the interbreed group of five cattle at Balmoral Show. They are pictured with the class sponsor, and judge George Harvey. Picture: Agri-Images

Show Results


Broadmeadows Breeders’ Cup for the supreme champion: William Smith. Reserve: Donal Moloney.

Perpetual Challenge Cup for the best Limousin: William Smith. Reserve: Donal Moloney.

WM Mulligan Memorial Rose Bowl for the female champion: William Smith. Reserve: Donal Moloney.

John Thompson and Sons Tankard for the champion junior heifer: Mark McCartan. Reserve: Crawford Bros.

President’s Cup and John Thompson and Sons Tankard for the champion junior bull: James Alexander. Reserve: Martin Oliver Davis.

John Thompson and Sons Award for the overall junior champion: James Alexander. Reserve: Mark McCartan.

Smyth Cup for the male champion: Trevor Shields. Reserve: James Alexander.

Jim Scott Perpetual Challenge Cup for the exhibitor-bred champion: William Smith. Reserve: James Alexander.

NI Limousin Club Award for the best pair bred by exhibitor: C & R Mulholland. Reserve: J & P Rainey.

Herbert Lusby Memorial Perpetual Challenge Cup for the best group of three: Trevor Shields. Reserve: Crawford Bros.


Heifer, born on or after 01/04/22
1, Mark McCartan, Cranmoney Tess by Claddagh McCabe
2, Keith Forsythe, Johnstown Toffee by Jalex Itsallgood
3, Stephen McGookin & Sons, Ballycairn Tara by Millburn Limomaclimo
4, Samantha Allen & Allen Shortt, Derg Tesla by Huntershall Nutcracker

Heifer, born between 01/01/22 and 31/03/22
1, Crawford Bros, Rathkeeland Tenndresse by Westpit Omaha
2, William Smith, Millbrook Tanya by Ampertaine Foreman
3, DG Green & Sons, Sarkley Tinselle by Carnew Millreef
4, DG Green and Sons, Derriaghy Tinkerbell by Gunnerfleet Lion

Heifer, in-calf or maiden, born between 01/07/21 and 31/12/21
1, C & R Mulholland, Deerpark Shakira by Wilodge Vantastic
2, Trevor Shields, Dinmore Sensation by Meadowrig Pedro
3, C & R Mulholland, Deerpark Scarlett by Wilodge Vantastic
4, Gareth Corrie, Drumhilla Shakira by Ampertaine Elgin

Heifer, in-calf, born between 01/10/20 and 30/06/21
1, Donal Maloney, Charlotte’s Sapphire by Elite Forever Brill
2, John & Paul Rainey, Claragh Sofia by Ampertaine Jamboree
3, DG Green & Sons, Derryiaghy Rosie by Ampertaine Magnum
4, Ashmara Limousins, Corranhill Something Special by Grangeford Jojo

Cow or heifer, born between 01/01/20 and 31/09/20
1, Patrick & Gill McAreavey, Scorboro Reggae by Fenomen

Cow, born on or before 31/12/19
1, William Smith, Millbrook Naughtyspice by Ampertaine Elgin
2, Crawford Bros, Rathkeeland Premier by Haltcliffe Nijinsky

Bull, born on or after 01/04/22
1, James Alexander, Jalex Transform by Huntershall Nutcracker
2, John & Paul Rainey, Claragh Tyson by Ampertaine Elgin
3, Michael & Kile Diamond, Pointhouse Thunderstruck by Ampertaine Foreman
4, David Lester, Lesters Ted by Foxhillfarm Jasper

Bull, born between 01/01/22 and 31/03/22
1, Martin Oliver Davis, Castlebrock Trafford by Mereside Godolphin
2, Crawford Bros, Rathkeeland Tommy by Westpit Omaha
3, Robin Patton, Carrickananny Timmy by Loyal

Bull, born between 01/07/21 and 31/12/21
1, Trevor Shields, Carrickmore Schumacher by Sympa
2, Trevor Shields, Arradfoot Salvador by Upperffydd Power
3, B & S Hall, Ballyhone Spectre by Gunnerfleet Lion

Bull, born on or before 01/07/20
1, Crawford Bros, Haltcliffe Nijinsky by Ampertaine Elgin

Group of three, property of exhibitor
1, Trevor Shields
2, Crawford Bros
3, Stephen McGookin & Sons.

Pair, bred by exhibitor
1, R & C Mulholland
2, J & P Rainey
3, Samantha Allen and Allen Shortt