This year  the  regular  meeting  venue  became  the  ‘Ring 6’ Café at Borderway Mart.

Alan Myerscough  chaired  the  January  AGM , with Karen Henshall  serving as Vice Chair.  February’s meeting revolved around an entertaining ‘Any Questions’ panel ,  and in March , members  young and old , and  of varying abilities, enjoyed  a prize-laden  Ten Pin bowling match.  In April we were pleased to host Mr Iain Kerr, BLCS Chief  Executive,  who  followed  a comprehensive  overview of the Society  by  answering  queries particularly  fosusing on the Herd Health Scheme and Sale Entry conditions.

Four Stock Judging evenings were held throughout the early summer from which the Young Members teams were selected to compete at the Royal Highland Show. We are most grateful for the generous hospitality and the opportunity to judge cattle afforded us by  Gordon and Sheila Wilson, just before they dispersed their Bankdale Herd; by the Armstrong Family, Terrace Herd ; the Stobart Family before their retirement sale of the Cracrop Herd; and by the Illingworths, Glenrock Herd. At the Higland National Young Breeders’ Stockjudging, the Junior Team of Chris Pears and Thomas Greenbank took first place, with Thomas equal second overall individual, and the Senior team of Matthew Ridley and Michael Norman were third in the Seniors. Thomas also won  the  Club’s  own  young members’  bursary.

In June, our Open Stock Judging event was hosted by the Dodd Family. Held shortly before their Redrock  major reduction sale, the excellent cattle on show  helped make the day a great success. Also in June, the Open Calf show held at Borderway was judged by Drew Hyslop, Grahams Herd, who selected  the Nixons’  calf  as Champion.

Sheila Thomlinson organised a great trip to Scotland in July.  Great cattle were on show and it was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. Host farms were most  welcoming  and many  thanks go to  the Callions, Lodge herd; the Emslies; the Penny Family, Shannas Herd; the Massie Family, Elrick Herd; and to the Irvines, Anside Herd.

The National Limousin Open Day was hosted on a lovely sunny day in July by the National Pedigree Herd Competition Champion Herd, that of the Ridley family, Haltcliffe. Many congratulations to them!  Our members volunteered  help on the day, as was the case on the busy stand at the following day’s National  Limousin Show, and on the Society stand at the Borderway Beef Expo. Derek & Heather Hume, Culnagechan Herd, judged our Herd Competition, generously sponsored by Bluefin and Towergate aiua Insurance.They   presented  the trophies at the Awards night and annual Dinner Dance held this year in October at the Shap Wells hotel, a venue which has been booked again for 2012.

The Bull and Heifer Derbies were judged by James Hazard, Mereside Herd. Glenrock Firefly was first bull and Glenrock Elusive first heifer and Champion.

Limousin heifer derby Champion Glenrock Elusive

In October, a particularly interesting evening was held in the company of local farmer, Mr Michael Cowan, who  had undertaken a trip-of-a-lifetime from London to Beijing on a BMW motorbike.

The Club supported Limousin stock sales at twelve auction venues throughout the region, in addition to awards for Limousin sired suckled calf sale champions.

New members are always welcome. Please ring Helen  01768 341388 (Sec)  or Judy 01768 361526 (Ass Sec)


NW Herd Comp Results                                     Judge : Derek Hume


Overall Herd

Messrs Ridley                           Haltcliffe Herd


Extra Large Herd

1st                                Messrs Ridley                           Haltcliffe Herd
Joint     2nd              David & Maggie Kelly             Netherhall Farm
Joint     2nd              E & E Norman                           Norman Herd
3rd                              Messrs Jenkinson                   Whinfellpark


Large Herd

1st         Procters Farms Ltd                                Procters Herd
2nd        Mr & Mrs SD Illingworth                    Glenrock Herd
3rd         Mr J A Ewing                                         Fairywater Herd


Medium Herd

1st                          Mr D Cornthwaite                                   Maybe Herd
2nd                         Mr & Mrs D Hill                                      Tayonshall Herd
Joint     3rd         Mr A Myerscough                                  Tallyrock Herd
Joint     3rd         Mr DJ Thomlinson                                  Beeches Herd


Small Herd

1st         Messrs G & P Long                               Millbrow Herd
2nd        Mr J & E Pattinson                             Loughhead Herd
3rd         Mr DF Walker                                      Dentox Herd


Extra Small Herd

1st         Mrs R Stevenson                                   Howgillfoot Herd
2nd        Mr Thomas Illingworth                    Eagleside Herd
3rd         Messrs IF & AM Grisedale               Angiean Herd


Best Young Bull

1st         Procters Farms Ltd                                Procters Gunner
2nd        Messrs Jenkinson                                  Whinfellpark Gambler
3rd         Mr & Mrs SD Illingworth                    Glenrock Fortune


Best Young Heifer

1st                          Messrs Ridley                           Haltcliffe Fern
Joint     2nd        Mr & Mrs SD Illingworth      Glenrock Fantastic
Joint     2nd        David & Maggie Kelly             Netherhall Galaxy
3rd         Procters Farms Ltd                                Procters Ginger


Best Young Stock

1st                          Whinfellpark                            Messrs Jenkinson
Joint     2nd        Procters                                    Procters Farms Ltd
Joint     2nd        Glenrock                                   Mr & Mrs SD Illingworth
3rd                        Fairywater                                 Mr J A Ewing