The Scottish Club again held a full programme of well-organised events in 2008. Those events were very well attended and enjoyed by all.

On the 24th April we held Stirling Primestock Show and Sale at Caledonian Marts. There was a good turnout of quality cattle. Judge Mr Nigel Bark chose a Limousin Cross Heifer belonging to Messrs A. Purdon, Strathaven House Farm, Carluke as his Champion which sold for 191p/kg. His Reserve Champion was a Limousin cross steer from Messrs DS and RC Taylor, Muthill which sold for 185p/kg.

At the Lanark Primestock Show and Sale held on the 28th April by kind permission of Lawrie and Symington there was again a very good turnout of quality cattle judged by Mr Sandy Cooper, his Champion and Reserve coming from David Dickinson, Brockwoodleas, Canonbie with his Champion steer making 214p/kg and his Reserve Champion a heifer making 208p/kg.

On the 21st May, the Beef Expo was held at United Auctions, Perth. The Club selected a number of top quality pedigree and crossbred cattle for exhibition on the stand that attracted many admirers. The Limousin stand in fact went on to win 1st prize for the best breed promotion at the event. Many thanks must go to all the exhibitors involved and all the helpers on the stand in making this event so successful.

On the 24th May we held a stock-judging event at Kinnahaird Farm, Contin, Strathpeffer by kind permission of the Clark Family. Everybody had an enjoyable day, with the winners of the stockjudging in the different sections being as follows:

Seniors –
Ladies –
Juniors –

Our master judge for the day was Mr Peter Walker. The day was finished off with a tug of war competition and a very enjoyable barbecue with liquid refreshment!

In June we had the Highland Show and the Limousin stand was very busy throughout the Show with the Club holding an excellent barbecue as usual after the judging. In addition to this, a very enjoyable drinks party was held down the cattle lines.

On the 27th July we held our farm walk at Spittalton Farm, Thornhill, Stirling by kind permission of Mr Andrew Burnett. It was held on what was probably the warmest day of the summer and we saw some excellent cattle and received some really top quality hospitality.

Also in late July we held our annual herd competition, this year judged by Mr Victor Woods from Greenmount College, Northern Ireland. A large number of herds entered and the judge was very impressed with the standard of herds throughout the competition.

The exhibitor of the year competition with points awarded for exhibiting at local Agricultural shows and the Highland show went ahead this year as usual with the results being as follows:

Small Herd:
1. Dorothy Clark Kinnahaird
2. William McLaren McLarens
3. George Harvey Harveys

Overall Herd:
1. Harry Emslie Emslies
2. Dorothy Clark Kinnahaird
3. William McLaren McLarens

Female of the Year: Allanfauld Saffron Dorothy Clark
Bull of the Year: Maraiscote Charlie Ian Nimmo

United Auctions, Perth, kindly sponsored this competition.

Finally, we couldn’t finish this report without mentioning the passing of one of our most popular members Mr Willie MacGillivray. He was a great Limousin enthusiast and a real character and we will all miss his little stories and jokes that only he could tell!

Chairman Mr Ian Callion and Secretary Miss Kathryn Lawson would like to thank all the Scottish Club members for their support and help over the year and wish them all the best for 2009.


Small Herd
1. Dorothy Clark – Kinnahaird
2. William McLaren – Mclarens
3. Michael Robertson – Fodderletter

Medium Herd
Joint 1. Ian and Wendy Callion – Lodge
Joint 1. Michael Massie – Elrick
3. Kenny Gill – Craiglands

Large Herd
1. Robert Graham – Grahams
2. Andrew Burnett – Spittalton
3. Ian Nimmo – Maraiscote

Extra Large Herd
1. Douglas Graham – Burnbank
2. Ron Cruickshank – Kype
Joint 3. David and Ronald Dick – Ronick
Joint 3. Margaret and John Penny – Shannas

Stockbull & Progeny
1. Douglas Graham – Grahams Tycoon
2. Margaret and John Penny – Dyke Thunder
3. Ian & Wendy Callion – Attila

Best Young Bull
1. Michael Massie – Elrick Colossus
2. Ron Cruickshank – Kype Cassius
3. Robert Graham – Grahams Colossus